Reunion and presentation night - Aug 4th '12

Reunion and presentation night on Sat 4th Aug in the Pollard Arms Hotel.

We held our reunion and presentation night on Sat 4th Aug in the Hotel Castlepollard. Following a lovely meal, and a short speech from Club Chairman Mick Macken, our MC Pat Murtagh commenced the proceedings. We had the presentation of medals to the 2009 and 2010 U16 championship winning teams. There was a special presentation to the 1975 and 1983 U14 Championship winning Teams. See link below for pictures for the original 1975 & 1983 Team photos.

A presentation was also made to Frank Devine Senior and to Paddy Boylan, who are the last surviving members of the 1947 Junior Championship winning team.

Pat Murtagh, newly retired St Michaels National School Principal was the MC on the night and he too received a special award from Castlepollard Hurling club as a recognition for his great work and success in promoting Hurling and Camogie in St. Michaels National School over the last 30yrs. Pat did a wonderful job on the night in which he reminised on some of the huge successes for our club over the years. He paid tribute to the numerous men and women who were the main driving force behind Castlepollard Hurling Club, including some of the colourful characters who, was it not for their nurturing of our underage hurlers over the years we would not have had these historic and memorable achievements.

A big thank you to all involved who made a great effort to be there on the night, some of whom had travelled long distances to make the night such an enjoyable success. (Jimmy Martin from Mayo, and John Kennedy, son of the late Jack Kennedy, from New Jersey)

Special thanks to Rose and staff of the Hotel Castlepollard for helping make this a memorable night.

Raffle winners on the night were as follows :-

Eugene O’Brien Mullingar Rd, won the 2 Nights B&B for 2 people in Cavan Crystal Hotel,

Martin O’Brien won the 2 premium tickets to the Cork vs Galway All-Ireland Hurling Semi-Final,

other winners on the night were :-

Ann Dermody, Coole (Bottle Brandy),

Margaret Gallagher, Castlepollard and Catherin Moore (Bottle Whiskey),

Ann Dermody, Coole (Bottle Vodka),

Fidelma Gallagher, Castlepollard, Brendan Higgins, Mullinger and Peter O’Hara, Castlepollard were winners of Wine and choclates.