Minor Hurling Final (13 aside) 2012

Sun 25th November, Clonkill @ 11am.
Castlepollard were still trying to settle into this game when Delvin scored an opening goal after just 9 minutes. Although Michael Murray scored a point in response, Delvin scored yet another goal almost immediately which took them 5 points clear. This clear rattled Castlepollard and they finally started to get into the game themselves, with 3 scores in quick succession. Michael Murray first scored a point from a free and then in the next passage of play he passed a great ball to John McCarthy who found the Delvin net.  Wayne Devine then added another goal when he struck the ball from some distance out. At half-time Castlepollard were in front on a score line of Castlepollard 2-02 v Delvin 2-0.


In the second half Castlepollard quickly resumed their scoring and added another goal (Michael Murray) and a point (Ciaran Fagan) in the first 2 minutes of play. Castlepollard were now in command of the game. In the 5th minute of the second half Delvin were reduced to 12 men after an off the ball incident.  The additional advantage of the extra man, allowed Castlepollard to continue their scoring and they added another goal (Ciaran Fagan) and 4 points (Michael Murray 2 points, Jason Coyle, John McCarthy 1 point each) in the next 10 minutes.  Delvin did try and battle on and scored 2 points from frees mid way through the 2nd Half. Castlepollard however replied in kind with further points from Michael Murray, Ciaran Fagan and Jason Coyle. Final Score Castlepollard 4-10 v Delvin 2-04.


After the game, Minor Board Chairman John Weir presented the Cup to Castlepollard Captain Tommy Gallagher. Congratulations to the full squad of 16 players who all played their part on the day.

Team: Warren Casserly, Ciaran Fagan, Sean Lancaster, Aaron O’Reilly, Tommy Gallagher, Ciaran Fagan, Michael Murray, Jason Coyle, Aaron Hogg, Wayne Devine, Joe Rabitte, John McCarthy, Michael Kelleghan. Subs: Conor O’Reilly for Michael Kelleghan, Bobby Barry for Wayne Devine, Kyle Bracken for Tommy Gallagher.   

Congratulations also to Team Manager Jody Murray and his mentors of Alfie Devine and Oliver Devine.